Tin Cap School
(Sectional School #9)
The unique name of Tincap was given to the community by some early settlers because the old stone schoolhouse boasted a cupola with a tin cap and as this was the only building of note, Tincap seemed a very suggestive name.
The school was burned about 1894, and classes were then held for a short time in a stone house owned by Mr. M. O’Donnell.
A new frame building was built; it was equipped with a tin cap and bell, to keep this school linked to the original. The first teacher in the new school was Miss Susie Hanna of Lyn.
The Tin Cap- “Another more fanciful version is that Breakenridge furnished the militia with ‘tin caps’ during the war of 1812 and placed one on the school cupola, which sparkled in the sun and could be seen for miles. The log schoolhouse was replaced by stone in 1850, which burned in 1894”
The building no longer exists.
School Superintendents Report (Ontario Archives)
Shows the following information, which in some cases contradicts what we have already researched, and contradicts other filed School Superintendents Reports:
1850: Stone building, constructed in 1844, condition: Good
1854: Frame building first opened in 1800
 Elizabethtown: The last Royal Township by Alvyn Austin pub 2009